NEW YORK — inewsource collected two Edward R. Murrow awards — among the most prestigious national awards in electronic journalism — Monday night for investigative and hard news reporting.

Executive Director Lorie Hearn and reporter Joanne Faryon, who reported and produced both winning entries, accepted the awards at a banquet hosted by the Radio Television Digital News Association. It was the largest crowd in the awards’ more than 40-year history. Some 4,000 entries were submitted nationwide in the contest. Ninety-eight winners were recognized.

Hearn accepted the award for investigative reporting on behalf of the journalism nonprofit for one story in a series on discrepancies in a special tax called Mello-Roos. The trophy was presented by Bob Schieffer, prominent political commentator, chief Washington correspondent and host of CBS’ Face the Nation.


Faryon took the stage to receive the trophy from Amy Robach, anchor of ABC’s Good Morning America. inewsource won in the hard news category for a story about the childhood abuse suffered by former San Diego mayoral candidate Nathan Fletcher.

“Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name,” according to RTDNA.

Lorie Hearn is the chief executive officer and editor of inewsource. She is a lifelong news-aholic who started her reporting career writing her Girl Scout newsletter at age 12. High school and college were filled with school newspaper work, and after graduation, she worked as a reporter for newspapers...

2 replies on “inewsource picks up two national Edward R. Murrow awards”

Comments are closed.