Click here to view the updated 2018 primary election results in key San Diego County races.
Click here to view the updated 2018 primary election results in key San Diego County races.

inewsource has mapped the final primary election results in six of San Diego County’s biggest 2018 races: the 49th and 50th congressional districts, district attorney, sheriff, and the 4th and 5th Board of Supervisors districts.

Explore the maps by selecting a race and clicking on a precinct on the map to view how many voters in that area voted for each candidate.

The maps, based on official election results certified last week, show the precincts where candidates performed the strongest and the weakest, and they help signal what might happen in the November general election.

Seven candidates won precincts in the 49th Congressional District, considered one of the most contested House seats in the country. Republican Diane Harkey of Dana Point finished first in the Orange County and San Diego County portions of the district. Democrat Mike Levin of San Juan Capistrano finished second, even though Democrat Sara Jacobs of Del Mar won more votes than Levin did in San Diego County.

Click here to view updated 2018 primary election results in key San Diego County races.

Despite facing an FBI investigation into his past campaign spending, Republican incumbent Duncan Hunter of Alpine dominated the primary for the 50th Congressional District, winning 315 of San Diego County’s precincts. Second-place finisher, Democrat Ammar Campa-Najjar of Jamul won 17 precincts. (Hunter also won the southwestern Riverside County portion of the district, but detailed breakdowns aren’t available.)

In the 4th District competition to replace termed-out Republican Supervisor Ron Roberts, Democrat Nathan Fletcher finished first with 29.2 percent of the vote. He won most of the precincts in the southern half of the central San Diego district, including Mission Valley, Kensington and Oak Park. Second-place finisher, Republican Bonnie Dumanis, captured 26.1 percent of the vote and performed strongest in La Jolla and Clairemont.

The current Board of Supervisors is made up of five Republicans, and Democrats consider this their best chance this year to flip a seat on the board.

The race to replace termed-out Republican Supervisor Bill Horn in the 5th District wasn’t a close contest in the primary. Republican Jim Desmond of San Marcos won 243 of the precincts, with 45.2 percent of the vote in the North County district. Democrat Michelle Gomez of Oceanside finished second with 23.9 percent of the vote, capturing 13 precincts.

District Attorney Summer Stephan and Sheriff Bill Gore, both Republicans, easily won their seats. Stephan captured 62.7 percent of the vote, while Gore won with 55.2 percent. Because only two candidates ran in both races, each contest was decided in the June primary.

More than 673,400 votes were cast in San Diego County for the June primary. The 39.8 percent turnout is the highest in a midterm primary since 1998.

  • We’ll do the work. You just read it.
    Sign up for our newsletter.


We’ll let you know when big things happen.

Jill Castellano is a former investigative data coordinator for inewsource. When she's not deep in a spreadsheet or holed up reporting and writing her next story, she's probably hiking, running or rock climbing. She also loves playing board games and discussing the latest chapters with her book club....